I Learned How Important it is to be a Little Patient.

I’m not sure if this is because I’ve just been emotional lately, or what is wrong with me but, I learned how important it is to be a little patient.

This last Friday Logan had came up to spend the day with me. It was a sweet surprise because he came earlier than I had expected. He wanted to surprise me. And boy was I super happy about it! We spent the day bumming and talking. Window shopping for ideas, and to just explore more of Salt Lake. We also went to a new restaurant (it’s been a goal of ours to try new food places more often) and stopped at the little consignment store I work at part-time. I had showed him the little giraffe statue I had been contemplating on. As I was ready to leave the store I lost him. I went around the corner and saw him talking to my co-worker. I thought it was strange so I asked him what they were talking about and he said it didn’t matter.

WELL……this meant he was hiding something from me. And being me, I had to investigate and over analyze. I kept asking him. I kept looking at the clues. It got to a place where he gave up and asked if I just wanted to know. He was going to drive up sometime I wasn’t working to get it and surprise me with it for Christmas.

I ruined his surprise. I hate knowing that there is a something coming and not knowing all the possible details. I ruined this sweet thing that would’ve brought him so much joy and that I would’ve 100% reaped the happiness that would’ve come from it. Except I made him feel bad, and I cried because I realized how dumb it was of me. I cried because I made him feel sad. I took away this sweet gesture he was going to make.

And as a result of this, I learned how important it is to be a little patient. There is so much happiness that can come from it. It’s letting someone just take care of you because they love you. And secondly, I don’t need to know everything. Easier said than done, but, I don’t. I can’t control everything. I don’t need to know everything. I need to trust more.

Leave a Reply

