Thrifted Wardrobe

Growing up my family never went to a thrift store to shop for clothes. My mother never wanted us to wear any of it. She would rather have us wear new clothes from Walmart before used clothes from Goodwill or Savers. We also only did one shopping trip to the local mall a year. And another if we wore out the new shoes. I come from a family of eight kids and my family was pretty poor growing up. If it wasn’t for the fact that my mom was sooooo good at saving money and made money off of hobby projects and selling stuff from the garden at the farmers market. And how grateful I am she is so good with money. I have yet to figure out and establish good habits for saving.

As I’ve gotten older I’ve slowly gone to more and more thrift stores and secondhand stores. And I’ve definitely found some great items. It’s funny cause I get compliments on my outfits and I can’t help but smirk and little and think about how glad I learned early on that it’s not about the label but the style. Also, going to thriftstores and shopping second hand is so good and important cause it keeps the economy flowing and less clothes into landfills. I guess I never really put a ton of thought into where clothes go if it doesn’t sell. Though it’s great that other countries may get some of the old clothes a chunk of it still goes into landfills.

So here I have some terrible photos of me, but some good samples of my wardrobe. These articles of clothing are from the last 3 or 4 shopping trips in the last 2.5 months.

So this is is me. I’m rocking my Bella Canvas Unisex white V-neck tee with some basic black cotton leggings. This is my favorite outfit of all time. Mostly cause I love how comfy it is. But I’ll show you how I make this a little more appropriate to wear out and still be comfy.

img_7527

So this is is me. I’m rocking my Bella Canvas Unisex white V-neck tee with some basic black cotton leggings. This is my favorite outfit of all time. Mostly cause I love how comfy it is. But I’ll show you how I make this a little more appropriate to wear out and still be comfy.

img_7532

Here you see I’ve thrown on a green oversized wool cardigan and though you can’t quite see them I’ve also thrown on some tall brown riding boots. Normally I would wear a scarf just to add more to the outfit. I’ll go with anything from a sparkly scarf to a multi colored or even a solid color.

img_7529

Oversized Burgundy Sweater with leggings and boots. Top off the outfit with a cute scarf!

img_7534

I wore this outfit last week with a cream square scarf that had tassels. It was sooo cute!

So here are two outfits. Comfy, classic, and work appropriate without over dressing. On the left is a thick cream/off white waffle knit sweater with my green j.crew pants. On the right is a basic white button up that is also J.Crew brand. I found both the sweater, button-up, AND the pants at the thrift store!

img_7565

One of the beautiful things about that white blouse is that I can pair it with so many other clothing items. For example this skirt that I found. It was actually a size 2XL but I resewed the skirt so it would fit me. I just loved the print of the fabric too much to pass it up. It was a simple A-line skirt so it was easy to adjust.

Another thrifted find and transformation is this linen dress. I have it both belted and unbelted. It’s super comfy but as you can tell the belt can make such a difference. But, cute either way. This dress was actually a whole foot longer and even bigger. The way the dress was structured was intended to be big and loose but it was a tad too big  than I was comfortable with. I love it now!

img_7550

This Gray DowEast dress is just so cute! just enough formal with comfort and casual. I love that it’s a light gray so you can really pair it up with any color.

So this dress (sorry I couldn’t decide which picture was best to put up, they were all “meh”)…I saw it during one trip and was debating so hard whether or not I should get it and then I went back over 1.5 weeks later and it was still at the store. It was meant to be I guess. I love it! It’s just enough girly, summer, but still fitting for autumn. It is chiffon so it means layering up.

Aaaaaaaaand here you go! Visuals of how I layered up this cute dress. I would even add a cream scarf. It’s so cute and comfy.

I love these outfits. And there’s so many more combinations with the rest of my wardrobe. This is just a taste of recent thrift store finds with other thrift store finds.

If you liked this, let me know. Like or comment and I’ll put in a bit more effort and do better photos for you.

Leave a Reply

