I Was Reminded

As I was bumming on Facebook [like usual] and this video came up. It’s one of my favorites. Sarah Kay is a great poet. And TED talk does some real good. In this TED talk she talks about her mother and becoming a teacher and her story of becoming a poet. She also talks about how she taught and helped others to write poetry. She started with lists and the two prompts, “10 things i know to be true” and ” 10 things I should’ve learned by now”.

10 Things I know to be true:

  1. There’s a lot of power behind just believing
  2. God and Jesus Christ
  3. There is good in the world
  4. Gravity
  5. we all have struggles. Feeling sad and lonely is legitimate
  6. An education is better than no education, especially post-secondary education
  7. You decide happiness
  8. Sleep is good
  9. I recharge with good friends and my family
  10. laughter is good

 

10 Things I should’ve learned by now:

  1. Go to bed at a decent time
  2. Call mom more often
  3. Don’t brush your wet hair
  4. Date when you’re ready
  5. find time to just breathe
  6. exercise more consistently
  7. how to study
  8. save money better
  9. not love so easily
  10. walk away from situations I can’t handle

 

https://embed-ssl.ted.com/talks/sarah_kay_if_i_should_have_a_daughter.html

Leave a Reply

